Goodbye, McCaskey

I had always imagined high school to be what it was in the movies: the cliques, the fights for popularity, the overdramatic bullying, eating lunch in the bathroom. I was fearful of the experiences ninth grade would bring me and I was petrified of the four years to come after that.

My start to high school was different from how most people would spend their ninth and tenth grade years, and this was because of COVID-19. I won’t indulge how the virus affected me or my high school years, because it’s a given that everyone suffered in their own ways. Instead, I want to write a formal goodbye to McCaskey and the memories I have made in these halls.

I have made an abundance of friends and have lost many as well. In ninth grade, I met my current friend group: Oshual Tejeda, Lorena Diaz, Juliana Grove, and Brianna Dobbs. Those four had stood by me with every awkward transition of my high school life, giving me the encouragement to keep going and being the friends I needed in my hard time, stood by me for those four years and I had never had a group that had loved each other all so much.  

By eleventh grade, I reconnected with a friend from elementary school, Shae M. We became the best of friends and by twelfth grade we were in a friend group together. Through heartbreak, mental illness, and fights, they have stood by me. 

For that, I say thank you to you all. All of the wonderful people I have met.

The teacher I have grown the closest to here is Mr. Meyer. He has helped me through many tough times in school, whether it be personal or educational. He was the first teacher to write me a college recommendation letter and to make me feel like I belonged somewhere.

I don’t have many good memories. I had many hard times, such as with my own mental health struggle and my ability to work on myself. But, the people here have done nothing but help me through it all. 

Thank you, McCaskey, and goodbye.

Leave a comment